The Kitchen Charmer is still cooking!

I recently got a flood of emails asking about The Kitchen Charmer. So here’s my communal answer, y’all. Thank you for you infinite patience. It’s still in the works! I probably have 800 pages on the book, although they’re not in sequence and some refer to versions that will never see the light of day. It stopped being a novella a long time ago, partially because it wanted to be bigger, and partially because my readers kept saying they wanted full-length novels.

I take forever. I agonize over every scene, sometimes every word. Some of that is my usual perfectionism; but a lot of it’s from working as an editor and publisher now, which means I’ve got a bird’s eye view of the competition in ways I never had, before. The world is a scary place in which to release our tender book birds.

I’m hoping for a spring pub date, but I’ve quit issuing estimates. I can report that the book is moving along at a faster rate, and going more smoothly, than ever before. Knock on wood. Thanks again for waiting. I hope it’s worth it.

About Deborah Smith

Author, publisher, partner and V.P. of BelleBooks and Bell Bridge Books NYT bestseller A PLACE TO CALL HOME, Wall Street Journal and Kindle bestseller THE CROSSROADS CAFE, also When Venus Fell, Silk and Stone, Charming Grace, and many others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.